120 Football

120 Football

As photographers, we are always looking for ways to keep our work fresh. How do we effectively present to the world our vision? What tools best help us accomplish that? Stepping away from what we know and trying something else is difficult. It is especially difficult in our profession because taking risks means possibly missing a moment, and moments equal $$$. Taking risks, going out of my comfort zone and trying unfamiliar techniques is what I did this weekend.

35mm-and-6x6-sizes-wp1

Credit: rralexander.wordpress.com

I’ve shot portraits with my personal medium format film camera before, but never on an assignment. During this weekend’s football game I used a Mamiya 645 AFD II with an 80mm 2.8 lens ISO 400 as my secondary camera. This literal brick of a camera created some gorgeous photos but the learning curve is immense. The shutter lag was practically one entire half second, manual focus was painfully inaccurate and using the 120 format made me pre-visualize my photos square instead of rectangle.

Going into a fast-paced sports environment with a clunky camera that kept jamming on me, that I did not understand and became increasingly frustrated with was a great experience. Not a sports camera by a long shot, I focused more on the quiet moments around the sidelines. I learn a lot on my feet and managed to make the frames below. Slowing down, appreciating the details and timing photos instead of motor-driving was enjoyable. Although not the most breathtaking photos, I am satisfied that I was able to make it work. Enjoy!

FB vs. Eastern MichiganFB vs. Eastern MichiganFB vs. Eastern MichiganFB vs. Eastern MichiganFB vs. Eastern MichiganFB vs. Eastern MichiganFB vs. Eastern MichiganFB vs. Eastern Michigan

FB vs. Eastern MichiganFB vs. Eastern Michigan

FB vs. Eastern Michigan

FB vs. Eastern MichiganFB vs. Eastern MichiganFB vs. Eastern MichiganFB vs. Eastern MichiganFB vs. Eastern MichiganFB vs. Eastern MichiganFB vs. Eastern MichiganFB vs. Eastern MichiganFB vs. Eastern MichiganFB vs. Eastern MichiganFB vs. Eastern MichiganFB vs. Eastern MichiganFB vs. Eastern MichiganFB vs. Eastern Michigan

FB vs. Eastern Michigan SS 20161015

My good friend Sarah Stier captures my growing frustration with the Mamiya (Sarah Stier | Ohio Athletics)

 

 

Leave a Reply

