Push It To The Limit

Push It To The Limit

Push it to the limit. 

These five words go through my mind every single time I step onto the court with my camera. What can I try differently? How can I make this picture better? What if I put a remote camera here? What is missing from my photo gallery? A “good” photo is simply not enough. I need a great photo. My mind buzzes with ideas and I formulate my game plan days before a match. “Calvin, you’re crazy!” and “You do the most!” are some of the comments I have received from friends and classmates. I take these comments as compliments because they reflect my dedication, passion and love for my job and the game. I like to joke that I put my heart, sweat and blood (literally) into my job.

I’ve begun arriving several hours in advance to basketball games to set up five remote cameras and one handheld camera. I also install a second set of strobes dedicated to remotes to beat the recycle time of the primary strobes. This is obviously a very sophisticated system and I have not perfected it yet. I’ve had to ask friends to lend me a spare camera, lens or PocketWizard here and there. The most difficult camera to not only set up but work is the backboard camera because it is inaccessible during the game. I set up a backboard every game but have only successfully synced it to the strobes once.

I also strobed a swim meet and photographed a wrestling match for fun.

I’ve spared you the “basic” basketball shots so here are some of the different ones. A huge shout out to Sarah Stier for her continued assistance setting stuff up!

MBB vs. Kent

Ohio Bobcats guard/forward Gavin Block (22) (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

MBB vs. WMU

Ohio Bobcats guard/forward Gavin Block (22) (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

MBB vs. NIU

(Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

MBB vs. Akron

Ohio Bobcats Basktball (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

MBB vs. Akron

Ohio Bobcats guard Mike Laster (24) (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

MBB vs. Akron

Ohio Bobcats forward Treg Setty (0) Ohio Bobcats guard Jordan Dartis (35) (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

MBB vs. Akron

Ohio Bobcats forward Antonio Campbell (33) and Ohio Bobcats guard Jordan Dartis (35) (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

MBB vs. Akron

Ohio Bobcats guard Mike Laster (24) (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

MBB vs. NIU

(Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

MBB vs. WMU

Ohio Bobcats forward Antonio Campbell (33) (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

MBB vs. Kent

Ohio Bobcats guard Jaaron Simmons (2) (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

MBB vs. Kent

Ohio Bobcats forward Wadly Mompremier (4) (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

MBB vs. NIU

(Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

MBB vs. NIU

(Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

MBB vs. NIU

(Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

MBB vs. NIU

(Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

WBB vs. Akron

(Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

WBB vs. Akron

(Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

MBB vs. Akron

Ohio Bobcats Basktball (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

MBB vs. Akron

Ohio Bobcats guard Jaaron Simmons (2) (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

MBB vs. Akron

Ohio Bobcats forward Antonio Campbell (33) (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

MBB vs. Akron

Ohio Bobcats forward Treg Setty (0) (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

MBB vs. Akron

Ohio Bobcats forward Kenny Kaminski (13) (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

MBB vs. Akron

Ohio Bobcats forward Antonio Campbell (33) (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

SD vs. Ball State

Ohio Bobcats Swimming and Diving (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

SD vs. Ball State

Ohio Bobcats Swimming and Diving (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

SD vs. Ball State

Ohio Bobcats Swimming and Diving (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

SD vs. Ball State

Ohio Bobcats Swimming and Diving (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

SD vs. Ball State

Ohio Bobcats Swimming and Diving (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

SD vs. Ball State

Ohio Bobcats Swimming and Diving (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

SD vs. Ball State

Ohio Bobcats Swimming and Diving (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

SD vs. Ball State

Ohio Bobcats Swimming and Diving (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

SD vs. Ball State

Ohio Bobcats Swimming and Diving (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

SD vs. Ball State

Ohio Bobcats Swimming and Diving (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

SD vs. Ball State

Ohio Bobcats Swimming and Diving (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

SD vs. Ball State

Ohio Bobcats Swimming and Diving (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

MW vs. Kent

during a wrestling match against Kent State at the Convocation Center in Athens, Ohio, on Jan 15, 2016. (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

MW vs. Kent

during a wrestling match against Kent State at the Convocation Center in Athens, Ohio, on Jan 15, 2016. (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

WBB vs. Akron

Me testing my backboard remote. (Calvin Mattheis | Ohio Athletics)

Leave a Reply

